Personal Update

I have only recently returned from the hospital after detoxing from multiple depression medications.  Actually, it was one of the harder things I have ever done.  I was more or less surrounded by heroin addicts, and by the end of the two weeks I had two-thirds of them going to my private mass…  🙂     I am not sure what to say about all this, or how it will play a part in my overall story.  I am not certain what God has in store for me from this point onward, but my mind is more clear than it has been in a long time, giving me an added ability to discern what that might be.  One step forward at a time, one hour at a time, one day at a time….

As for the Scripture program, I think it might be good for us to “fast forward” and spend Lent reading about the death of the Lord.  I actually designed the program to be able to do this easily.  If anyone has any objections or ideas, please let me know.  I will take a look at everything this weekend, make a decision, and give everyone a more detailed update.

I thank everyone for your prayers and support.  I would not have chosen to deal with these problems, but that is the cross that has been given to me.  I hope before the end I learn to bear it with more grace.

Fr. Basil

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Personal Update

  1. Pratt Landry

    We know that God works in strange ways. Even though you suffered through this experience God used you to reach out to those who really needed the love of God. To them you were an angel. We continue to pray for you and know that God is using you as He wills. We love you and are proud of your faith and determination. We look forward to the continuation of your Scripture program Pratt & Margaret > WordPress.com > basilburns posted: “I have only recently returned from the hospital > after detoxing from multiple depression medications. Actually, it was > one of the harder things I have ever done. I was more or less > surrounded by heroin addicts, and by the end of the two weeks I had > two-t” >

  2. Cindy

    God be with you.

    Sent from my iPad

  3. Rocky

    It appears that God sent you to those who needed you most. That is clearly evident to me by the fruit produced during your stay. Introducing 2/3 of those suffering souls to Christ within two weeks is simply amazing. God has used your pain and suffering for the benefit of His lost children during this season of lent…. a similar path travelled by our Lord. His grace is certainly with you, and with that grace, your cross you will be easier to bear. I admire your strength.
    God bless you.

  4. Regina

    As we know God truly works in ways we don’t understand. You needed someplace to be physically healed and those there with you needed not only physical but spiritual healing. I believe you were sent there by God to help and if whether you touched one soul or a hundred, God’s work was done. I admire what you did and the strength it took to go public with it. God be with you and may our Mother Mary keep you in her Immaculate Heart.

  5. Ann

    Whatever you decide, will be fine with me. Just follow the Holy Spirit within your heart, and know you will continue to be prayed for, and loved, for God is with you.
    Love & Prayers, Ray & Ann

  6. A Friend

    I am not an Addict but I do have a love one that is! I did not carry the same side of the Cross that God had given them but I did carry another end of that same cross! It was very painful for me and my love one. All I can say is you can only live one day at a time or even one minute at a time and always keep your Faith. We may not understand God’s plan for us but we need to trust Him! We can only see one piece of the puzzle of our life but God can see the entire puzzle! Father Basil, You will be in my prayers!

  7. Betsy

    Father:
    You mentioned several times last night that Jesus was speaking to His disciples and at this point, had not chosen His Apostles. Not that He needs a reason but, what does the Church know about the individual characteristics of the guys He chose and why He might have chosen those specific individuals to be the earliest church leaders? I know it’s a large list, but can you recommend some reading on this subject?

    Thank you for sharing last night.

Leave a Reply

