Lecture This evening Canceled for June 11, 2014

Lecture this evening canceled — June 11, 2014. I’m not feeling very well, and feel a bit disorganized about all this. I am seriously thinking about re-working my lectures. I have received the (constructive) criticism that some feel that since they haven’t done much of the previous reading, it prevents them from getting into the schedule as it stands now. Perhaps I should abandon it for some other topics. The gospel reading originally began as a PERSONAL commitment on my part to becoming closer to the gospel as a priest of Jesus Christ — I just thought, “Why not go on that journey with my people as well?” Your thoughts or opinions are appreciated. Please weigh in on this!!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Lecture This evening Canceled for June 11, 2014

  1. Golda Spiers

    I am very sad and disappointed!
    Your lectures anywhere anytime have been a gift from the Holy Spirit

  2. Sally Burk

    Like Golda, I am very disappointed as there are so many of us who are not being fed. My only suggestion would be that you would go slower as we missed so much when the lectures were interrupted. I do hope that you will reconsider and continue to offer us bible study on the Gospels. You are a brilliant teacher and I think it would be a tragedy to keep that gift from those of us in the parish who are thirsting for more insight into the Word of God.

  3. Pratt Landry

    Please consider that those of us who attend your lectures are always well pleased. In my opinion any criticism needs to focus on promotion of the lecture. Your are a great resource for our getting closer to Jesus and we certainly do not want you to stop. It is discouraging to me to see so few people attend. Why so few? I believe that the lack of sufficient promotion is a real stumbling block and needs to be re-evaluated. We have a bulletin but no mention of your lectures is included. There is no mention of your lecture in the parish announcements at mass. The lecture series should be given a prominent position in the parish activities. We should know ahead of time the material to be covered. A bible study activity is generally desired by a large number of interested parishioners. We need to find a better way to connect. I am willing to help you help us.

  4. Cindy Strecker

    I love your input and illumination into the scriptures…..translation history, multiple meanings and usage of words, cultural practices of biblical times, etc which you provide in abundance all make God’s word more relevant and alive and understandable and challenging for my personal life. If the lectures in person are impossible, at least a written lecture would be one way to share your gift with us.

    I disagree that someone who hasn’t attended previous lectures cannot benefit from the current ones. I believe each lecture stands on it’s own. I have missed some of the lectures for various reasons and had no difficulty jumping into wherever you were.

    • Louise Carman

      Ditto all of the above sentiments. I missed last week’s and was so looking forward to this week’s. Take a break if you must, but please don’t stop. You have a gift and it needs to be shared.
      Louise Carman

  5. Pete/Cyndi Murla

    my wife and I find your lectures to be very informative. I feel it would be most unfortunate for all who attend to no longer have your input into the reading of the scriptures in one form or another. Personally, your lectures enable us to have a better understanding of the scriptures and a feeling of closeness to the Lord.

  6. John and Peggy Forester

    My wife and I are fairly new to the parish and out of town frequently but the times we have attended were very informative and thought-provoking..

  7. Tony

    Fr. Basil.
    Please do not be concerned about the number that attends.

    Mathew : When two or three are gathered , Jesus is with us.

    A priest giving a weekly bible class is a welcomed gem.

    Tony

  8. dstgermain2012

    I agree with everything said in the above comments! You have a gift to share and you are fighting major obstacles to do that! It is greatly appreciated.

    It would help a great deal if we were told at the Masses the weekend before that you will be presenting and what the subject will be. It does not have to be every week…that can be too challenging for you and for us. And, as far as subject matter, I do trust that whatever the Holy Spirit guides you to present will be perfect! Thank you so much for being our beloved priest. Diane

Leave a Reply

